After the partition of the country in 1947, the Punjab Education Department functioned from a camp office set up in Shimla Metropole Hotel. At that time, the Education Secretary was also Director of Public Instructions. On February 15, 1959, the office was shifted to Chandigarh, the new capital of Punjab. In 1966, when the southern districts of Punjab were constituted as the new State of Haryana, the Department was reorganised with the same staff going to the new state.

The Higher Education Department, Government of Punjab provides education for undergraduate and post-graduate level in various disciplines through around 500 Colleges functioning under the supervision and the guidance of the Education Minister & Principal Secretary Higher Education, Government of the Punjab.

The main aim of the DOHE is not only to enlighten the beneficiaries of the department i.e. the students but also broaden their mental horizon in order to prepare them to cope up with the challenges of the 21st century. The Department envisions the society as a society habitually capable of living with high ideals; tolerant of others views and aspirations; a society which can co-exist with the changing times and assimilate the phenomenon of globalisation of the world; a society which knows the joy of meaningful living; a society keen to protect its younger generation and leave behind a better world. We believe in equal opportunity for all in the quest for education and are striving to impart quality education of a standard recognised at the world community level. We recognise our duty to make quality education affordable for the common man and are striving to create an environment where education would lead to prosperity and improve general standard of living for the masses.

The state has a large network of colleges which has been necessary over a period of time depending on the needs. Punjab has a well developed educational system consisting of:

These are the Universities and Colleges in the state of Punjab:-

  • A) State Universities
    • Panjab University, Chandigarh
    • Punjabi University, Patiala
    • Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar
    • Rajiv Gandhi Law University, Patiala

  • B) Institutes of National Importance
    • IISER Mohali
    • NIPER Mohali
    • NIT Jalandhar
    • Central University of Punjab Bathinda

  • C) Private Universities (08)
    • -Thapar University Patiala

      -Lovely Professional University Phagwara

      -Chitkara University Banur

      -Guru Kashi University Talwandi

      -Chandigarh University Kharar

      -Adesh University Bathinda

      -Desh Bhagat University Mandi Gobindgarh

      -World Sikh University Fatehgarh Sahib


    -46 Govt. Colleges

    -136 Govt. aided colleges

    -303 Private colleges

Recent Intitiatives taken by the department are:

1. IISER (Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Mohali)

2. Rajiv Gandhi University of Law, Patiala

3. P-Step Programme

4. Edusat

5. Setting up of 13 new govt. colleges in low GER areas.

6. Launch of GTT pilot project.

7. Initiation of Nasscom certified NAC test

8. Infosys BPL\\\'s Project Genesis.


Coming Soon

The Department | Administrative Setup | Programmes | Press Release | Picture Gallery | Colleges | Feedback | Contact Us

Related Links: Govt. of Punjab | Panjab University | Punjabi University | GNDU | NAAC | U.G.C.

2006 Directorate of Public Instructions (Collegs), Punjab. Powered by TRIGMA